“Tales” the podcast – chapter L1

Well, the book is finally out, and like a proud papa, I couldn’t be happier! This is the first time I ever tried an actual semi-legit, planned out release strategy, i.e. scheduling it 3 months in advance and promoting the thing for a change. I’m not sure this worked any better, but it certainly feels less half baked, as opposed to the usual tactics of dropping these things into the void, with no fanfare whatsoever, and then immediately moving on to the next project. So that’s something.

Here are some ordering options:

My website

Amazon

My website offers the better bargain for the exact same books, but your order from either is greatly appreciated. For those who are unaware, here’s the basic blurb:

Life in a locally owned, health-conscious grocery store chain…it might be organic, but it sure isn’t natural!

Any lowly peon who has ever worked retail or for that matter an office job will find much to laugh about and relate to in this highly comical epic, of a company whose chaos hits all too close to home. From blowhard bosses who insist “somebody” needs to do something whenever any problems arise, to the crybaby technophobes running riot all over the enterprise, to the widely held misperception that Good With Computers is an actual department, it’s all right here, in this fresh, modern workplace tale so realistic you might swear that you have lived it. But of course, nothing this preposterous could happen for real, right?

As is always the case, though, this book release finds me questioning why it is exactly that I feel compelled to write this stuff. If nobody ever bought one of my books again (which, let’s just say, is not at all too farfetched), would I still have this same obsesssion with the written word? I believe the answer to that is a resounding yes, but I’m no closer to really understanding why. For that matter, if I were the only person left on this planet, I’m pretty sure I would continue doing this every day, for the rest of my life, which is even more bizarre.

Without getting too religious or spiritual or into any kind of mystic mumbo-jumbo or whatever, I do for the most part feel as though this is completely out of my control. When I hear people – even some of the most accomplished scientists in the world – get on this kick talking about how they seriously believe that our entire universe is a computer simulation, I almost hate to say it, but this has begun to resonate with me a great deal. Because what this writing life feels like to me is that I am a robot or an ant or what have you (choose you favorite metaphor here – it amounts to the same thing), and this is my program. I have been put here to do exactly this, and I am doing it. I am executing my program on a daily basis, for whatever master it is who has placed me here.

Well, anyway, as I was saying, “Tales of a Scorched Coffee Pot” is now available for ordering on Amazon, and my website, with a few chapters here and there that were never published in my serialized installments. If you like what you’ve read/seen/heard thus far, order your book today! Also for those of you brave enough to review my epic work here, I could be persuaded to send you a free advance copy – if so just leave me your email address in a comment, or else send me a message at jasonmcgatheywriter@gmail.com and I will get one out to you.

Thanks for your support!

Leave a comment